Fakhr Zaman and De Kok will decide the umpires
Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has reacted to the controversial run-out of the second ODI Fakhr Zaman against South Africa by saying that de Kok had tried to divert attention or the umpire would decide.
MCC is the oldest and largest cricket club in the world and is considered to have a significant impact in the world of cricket.
Fakhr Zaman was dismissed on the first ball of the last over against South Africa when Pakistan needed 31 off six balls.
Zaman and Harris Rauf were trying to complete the second run, and wicketkeeper De Kock pointed to the bowler’s side. Fakhr Zaman was about to reach his crease, but he slowed down when he saw De Kock’s signal.
Fielder Aiden Markram threw towards the wicket keeper who hit the wickets straight and Fakhr Zaman was dismissed for 193.
Later, a cricket law was shared on the MCC’s Twitter handle. The argument after this run out is that De Kock deliberately made a wrong gesture that the ball was being thrown towards the bowler, with the wrong gesture Fakhr Zaman slowed down and got out.
Law 41.5.1 states that a fielder is not allowed to deliberately distract, deceive or obstruct a batsman. According to Law 41.5.2, the umpires will decide whether the fielder deliberately cheated or was merely a coincidence.